Blog, Twit, Face

I never thought I’d see the day I twittered and facebooked more than I blogged. But here we are. So much easier to post one-liners with links throughout the day than come up with several essay-length posts every week. Or even twice a week. (Juggling several balls at present.) I probably won’t ever stop blogging. Subject matter may change, but I’m wedded to the platform itself.

As this blog currently stands, it’s got Google juice. But if you want to know what I’m reading and linking in real-time, follow me on Twitter.

If you want to discuss the commentary with others, friend me on Facebook. Today’s topics include high-scoring homeschoolers and Joker-face posters. The number of comments I get on status updates reminds me of the old “rollicking” days on the blog, where discussions sometimes got heated. To be young again…

Twittered Tidbits for the Time-Constrained

I wish my income reflected the hours I put into doing things on my to-do list. Part of it involves wage-earning; the other, stop-talking-about-it-and-just-do-it stuff that provides no guarantee other than my personal satisfaction. Blastfulรขโ€žยข good times, for sure.

Light Blogging Because…

book…I’m writing a book.

A novel.

It’s a Christian, paranormal mystery with a bit of romance thrown into the mix. I briefly mentioned the specific topic a couple months ago. Do you remember what it was? (In the vein of Eric Wilson and Ted Dekker)

I don’t know if my book will see the publishing light of day, but I’m determined to finish the draft, revise it until it shines, and edit it. I’m almost halfway through the first draft. I plotted and outlined during February and started writing by the end of that month. I’m aiming for first draft completion by May 5, my birthday.

So, I haven’t dropped off the planet or given up blogging or ceased responding to e-mails. Just busy with clients, who pay my bills, and Book 1 of a three-book series, which may end up paying my bills. (God willing!)

Social Me III

La Shawn Barber's Facebook profileOK, Facebook and Twitter can be time-hogs. But I’m finding them to be valuable sources for information and networking (virtual and in the flesh). I’ve disabled comments on this blog mainly because I don’t have the time or patience to monitor them anymore. The lack of discussion gives the blog a soapbox quality; for now, that suits me just fine.

But…what I miss in feedback here I make up for on Facebook, Twitter, and to a lesser extent, MySpace. If you’re reluctant to try these social networking sites, you should overcome your skepticism. I did. With no regrets.

Friend me on Facebook, where I’ve made over 1,000 professional and personal connections. Follow me on Twitter for blogging/writing topics, news links, other resources, and tidbits about my excruciatingly exciting life. Or don’t follow me. Follow others! And finally, if you’re a solo artist or in a band, let’s connect on MySpace. Why friend me? I enjoy blogging/writing about music and plan to do more. If I really like your sound, I’ll blog about you and try to convince editors to publish my stories about you.

Looking for Header Designer

Bye-bye!

I have a vision of what I want this web site to look like. This new theme is rest stop (will add blogroll), not the final destination. The next step is to come up with a cool header, something quick and simple to tide me over.

This blog will cover culture, digital technology, faith, and politics, and I want a header that reflects these topics. If you’re a web site designer and have ideas you’d like to share, e-mail me at lashawn@lashawnbarber.com. Please include your prices and availability.

Social Me II

Me?Last February, I decided to become active on Facebook (to see what all the hype was about), MySpace (to connect with bands and fans), and Twitter (ditto Facebook). A mere two weeks later, I wrote an “I don’t get Facebook” follow-up post, which was premature. Nine months later, I get it. And I like it (once I blocked silly “hug me!” “toss me!” applications).

I’m kept up-to-date about events, groups, causes, and people I support, and Facebook brings traffic to my blog. I’ve “met” a lot of like-minded people. If I wanted to plan an LA-area blogger meet-up, it would be easier to organize on Facebook than on the blog. In fact, I think I’ll plan a meet-up. The first and only one I attended was in 2004. I’d like to meet people in the area who read my blog, and vice versa.

  • “Friend” me on Facebook, and join me and 595 pals for a fabulous meet-up party! ๐Ÿ™‚
  • “Friend” me on MySpace (especially if you’re in a band; I’m pitching music article ideas and would love to get a backstage pass), and read the unbearably exciting details of my life on Twitter.

(I know the avatar looks nothing like me, but I can pretend, can’t I?)

LBC Bandwidth Fund – August

In the spirit of charitable giving, Christian or otherwise, I’m starting a monthly feature here at LBC for those who want to give. If you read this blog, like it, and want to contribute a little toward the LBC Bandwidth Fund, click the Pay Pal button below:

Thanks for reading!

LBC Bandwidth Pledge Drive

Do you read this blog, like it, and want to help with bandwidth costs? Contribute to the “LBC Bandwidth Fund” by clicking the Pay Pal button below:

Thanks for reading!

BlogAds Return

BlogadsI haven’t had ads on my blog for quite a while. The political season is heating up and I’ve returned to political blogging for the time being, so I’d be foolish not to offer space to organizations and individuals trying to sell stuff to an audience interested in political things.

I get e-mails from political and Christian authors and publicists about reviewing or mentioning books on the blog. Authors, you can reach thousands of like-minded people who may want to buy your book. Place an ad on my blog with a link to your Amazon page.

The ad strip on the left is in a prime location: top left. On any web page, that’s where the eyes wander first. (I read about it in some report). And it’s true. Ads in that location get the most clicks.

Grab the Premium spot while it’s open, starting at $100 for one week.

Ad strips on the right start at $60 for one week.

Outsourcers Anonymous

Update (4/2): It’s just jokes! Did I fool you? I didn’t think so. Had to try, though. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I am the lone blogger at LBC and responsible for every post, good or bad. I wish I could take credit for coming up with the outsourced blogging idea. I shamelessly and without shame stole it from Tim Ferriss, author of The 4-Hour Workweek, who did the thing much better than I.

I didn’t do an April Fool’s post last year, because I didn’t think I could top the one I wrote in 2006, Secrets. As the story goes, I was really a white woman posing as a black woman, and I used a black friend as a stand-in to pose as “La Shawn Barber.” That was fun.

Continue reading “Outsourcers Anonymous”

Social Me

Do you do Facebook and MySpace? I’m slowly venturing across the social media/networking landscape with a basic MySpace page. Check it out. By the way, MySpace is kind of bulky and ugly, don’t you think? Anyway…

Facebook is easier on the eyes. To see my Facebook profile, you’ll have to sign up/sign in and be my friend, or something like that. I signed up last year but hadn’t paid much attention until recently. It’s sort of fun, but I have to laugh at the day-to-day obsessiveness of it all. ๐Ÿ™‚

Friends?

Update (6:21 p.m.): Thanks for the “friend” requests! I…I feel so loved! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

I’m working on a review of Lenny Kravitz’s new album, It Is Time For A Love Revolution. Turn on/turn up your computer’s speakers and listen to “I’ll Be Waiting.” I’ll bet it’s about ex-wife Lisa Bonet. Yep, even after all these years…

Update II (2/12): Get well soon, Lenny. And come to DC!

WordPress for Dummies

WordPress For DummiesI just found out I was mentioned as a WordPress-using blog consultant in WordPress For Dummies, by Lisa Sabin-Wilson and Matt Mullenweg.

Lisa and I go way back. I started out on Blogger.com in November 2003. I soon realized I needed my own domain and a new look. I searched for a blog designer, found Lisa at E. Webscapes, and learned she also hosted blogs (see Blogs-About).

The WordPress blog platform was fairly new at the time, and Lisa specialized in setting up WordPress blogs. Movable Type was the hottest platform, but I said, “Sure, why not? I’ll go with WP.”

Since then, Lisa’s created two designs for me (and I’m in desperate need of a new one for 2008), and she’s still hosting LBC. And I have no complaints. I highly recommend the very patient and generous Lisa’s design and hosting services. Since I first contacted her, she’s blown up. And still cool. Check out her blog, Just A Girl In The World.

Thanks for the mention, Lisa, and I look forward to reading your book. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Lost Voice and Links

flashlightI seem to have lost my voice somewhere. While I search for it, check out a few of my favorite music/digital tech blogs:

Also see ChristianityToday.com’s music section, especially Glimpses of God.

Read about the convergence of faith and digital technology in this Wired magazine story, “Huckabee’s Secret Weapon: Evangelical Twin Teens With Internet,” on Christian homeschooled twins Alex and Brett Harris of The Rebelution. Who says Christian kids can’t be cool?

Wired continues its future-of-music series with former Talking Heads singer David Byrne, who spoke with Radiohead lead singer Thom Yorke about “The Real Value of Music.” I blogged about Byrne’s previous article on the future of music. See David Byrne On Digital Age Music Distribution.

Upcoming stuff from me: An interview with an actor from the movie Day Zero and a review of What Black Men Think.

So…what are LBC readers up to these days?

Anything cool/interesting/important/frivolous?

Update: Old heads of the blogosphere, unite!